Professor N.H.F. Wilson

Past president: 1994-1995

Professor N.H.F. Wilson

Nairn Wilson was Professor of Restorative Dentistry and Dean and Head of King’s College internationally renowned Dental Institute between 2001 and 2012, and Deputy Vice Principal (Health) between 2009 and 2012. Nairn’s many other positions in dentistry included Dean and Clinical Director of the University Dental School of Manchester (1992-1995) and subsequently Pro-Vice Chancellor of the University of Manchester (1997-1999), Editor of the Journal of Dentistry (1986-2000), Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (1995-1998), President of the Academy of Operative Dentistry European Section (1998-2000),  President of the General Dental Council (1999-2003), Co-chair of the Forum of European Heads and Deans of Dental Schools (2007- 2012) and President of the British Dental Association (2015-2016). His interests and special expertise included healthcare regulation, international trends in dental education, and future developments in the clinical practice of dentistry.

In 'retirement' Nairn, now Emeritus Professor of Dentistry, continues to author and edit many different contributions to the dental literature, while supporting various dental charities as Trustee (Oral and Dental Research Trust, Oral Health Foundation and Oman Dental College) or Patron (Dental Wellness Trust and Sterling Dental Foundation). In addition, he holds various positions including Strategic Planning Executive, European Federation of Periodontology; Clinical Director, Medical and Dental Defence Union of Scotland; External Governor, University of Portsmouth and Chair of the Electoral College of the British Veterinary Association and Shadow Board, College of Dentistry.

His various honours and awards, in addition to his CBE, awarded in 2004 for services to dentistry and healthcare regulation, have included the Hollenback Memorial Prize, the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh Medal, a Dentistry Lifetime Contribution Award, the Award of Excellence of the Academy of Operative Dentistry European Section, and the John Tomes Medal of the British Dental Association.

Nairn was President of BSRD in 1994-1995 when he was Professor of Restorative Dentistry at the University of Manchester. In 1993, Nairn and Professor Richard Johns prepared BSRD ‘Clinical guidelines for crown and bridgework’ (Eur J Pros Rest Dent,1:189-195). Nairn is one of two Past Presidents of BSRD to have been admitted to the Fellowship of the American Academy of Restorative Dentistry, which awarded him Life Membership in 2012.

How we use cookies